Scaphirhynchus Conference: Alabama, Pallid, and Shovelnose Sturgeon

St. Louis, Missouri, 11-13 January 2005

44.  COMPARISON OF GEARS FOR SAMPLING STURGEON SPECIES IN THE MIDDLE MISSISSIPPI RIVER.

David P. Herzog*, Missouri Dept. of Conservation, Open Rivers and Wetlands Field Station, Jackson, MO 63755; Phone 573-243-2659; FAX 573-243-2897; David.Herzog@mdc.mo.gov

James Garvey, SIUC Fisheries and IL Aquaculture Center, Life Sciences 2 Room 173, Carbondale, IL, 92901-6511; Phone 618-453-2609; FAX 618-453-6095; jgarvey@siu.edu

Ron Brooks, SIUC Fisheries and IL Aquaculture Center, Life Sciences 2 Room 173, Carbondale, IL, 92901-6511; Phone 618-453-6072; FAX 618-453-6095; rbrooks@siu.edu

Timothy W. Spier, WIU Department of Biology, 1 University Circle, Macomb, IL, 61455; Phone 309-298-1266; FAX 309-298-2270; tw-spier@wiu.edu

David Ostendorf, Missouri Dept. of Conservation, Open Rivers and Wetlands Field Station, Jackson, MO 63755; Phone 573-243-2659; FAX 573-243-2897; David.Ostendorf@mdc.mo.gov

Joe Ridings, Missouri Dept. of Conservation, Open Rivers and Wetlands Field Station, Jackson, MO 63755; Phone 573-243-2659; FAX 573-243-2897; Joseph.Ridings@mdc.mo.gov

Jason Crites, Missouri Dept. of Conservation, Open Rivers and Wetlands Field Station, Jackson, MO 63755; Phone 573-243-2659; FAX 573-243-2897;  Jason.Crites@mdc.mo.gov

Collin Beachum, Missouri Dept. of Conservation, Open Rivers and Wetlands Field Station, Jackson, MO 63755; Phone 573-243-2659; FAX 573-243-2897; Collin.Beachum@mdc.mo.gov

Rob Colombo, SIUC Fisheries and IL Aquaculture Center, Life Sciences 2 Room 173, Carbondale, IL, 92901-6511; Phone 618-536-7761; FAX 618-453-6095; rcolombo@siu.edu

We sampled the Middle Mississippi River (i.e. Cairo, IL to Missouri River confluence) from June 2002 through May 2004 to compare catch of Scaphirhynchus spp. among several sampling gears including hobbled gill nets, 2 and 3 inch bar mesh gill nets, experimental mesh gill nets, hoop nets, 8 ft Missouri benthic trawl, 16 ft Missouri benthic trawl, 25 ft benthic trawl, trotline, and drifted nets.  Sampling was divided among four seasonal periods and stratified across seven habitat types.  Over 4,000 shovelnose sturgeon (S. platorynchus) and 41 pallid sturgeon (S. albus) were captured during our study.  Differences of sturgeon catch were identified across gear, habitats, and seasons and summaries from catch of directed versus random sampling were unique.